NUBIA – Un voyage le long du Nil

Un itinéraire unique qui peut finalement être expérimenté grâce à l’ouverture de la frontière terrestre entre l’Egypte et le Soudan. Un voyage qui nous fait découvrir l’histoire: de la première invasion des pharaons égyptiens qui ont soumis la Nubie soudanaise à la région de Jebel Barkal, la capitale du Royaume des Pharaons noirs, lorsque les rois nubiens ont conquis l’ensemble Egypte pharaonique. Nous visiterons Meroe, où se développe une grande culture indigène qui rivalisait avec les Romains et où des dizaines de pyramides se sont installées dans le désert. Nous traverserons ensuite la frontière pour atteindre Abou Simbel et embarquerons sur un petit bateau pour découvrir le lac Nasser, en visitant de beaux sites tels que Wadi Es Sebua, Amada et Kasr Ibrim, sans touristes du tout et loin de toute tension politique en Egypte jusqu’à la beau temple d’Abu Simbel. Au Soudan nous voyageons en 4×4 le long du Nil pour admirer et découvrir les magnifiques sites archéologiques de Soleb, Tombos, Kerma et aussi pour voir les villages colorés de Nubie, le Désert de Nubie et le Jebel Barkal avec ses tombes polychromes. Nous ferons aussi l’expérience du désert de Bayuda avec ses cônes volcaniques et ses établissements nomades jusqu’à l’étonnant site UNESCO de la nécropole royale de Méroé. A Khartoum, nous visiterons le musée archéologique et l’immense marché d’Omdurman.

15 jours
Oct-Avr
Hébergement

Les services comprennent:

  • Réunion à l’aéroport et transfert privé à l’hôtel
  • 1 O / N à Isis Corniche Hôtel Aswan 4 **** en BB
  • 1 O / N chez une maison nubienne à Abu Simbel en BB
  • Pension complète sur le bateau, y compris l’eau, le café et le thé
  • Permis de lac individuel pour les zones protégées et pour visiter la forteresse de Qasr Ibrim, normalement inaccessible aux touristes
  • Fixer au Soudan pour le passage de la frontière
  • 2 O / N à l’Hôtel Acropole (3 ***) ou similaire à Khartoum en BB (surclassement possible à l’hôtel 4 ou 5 ***** à Khartoum sur demande)
  • tout l’équipement de camping pour les nuitées en campement (tente igloo, matelas en mousse de caoutchouc) et un cuisinier en charge des repas
  • 3 O / N dans un camp spécial prédéfini au Soudan à Tombos avec des installations partagées
  • 1 O / N en pension complète à la Maison Nubienne à Karima
  • 2 O / N au camp de Meroe dans FB
  • Au Soudan transport avec Toyota Land Cruisers (4 pax par voiture) ou Toyota Hilux cabine double (3 pax par voiture garantie), y compris un jour supplémentaire pour nos véhicules à Wadi Halfa de Khartoum.
  • TL parlant anglais
  • Personnel soudanais
  • eau minérale dehors de Khartoum
  • repas selon l’itinéraire
Jour 1: arrivée à Khartoum

Rencontre et accueil à l’aéroport et transfert à votre hôtel. Dîner non inclus et nuitée.

Hébergement
Khartoum - hôtel de votre choix
Jour 2: Khartoum - Tour de la ville

Petit déjeuner à l’hôtel puis visite du musée archéologique qui, en plus de nombreux beaux objets, contient deux beaux temples sauvés par l’UNESCO et déplacés de la région du lac Nasser, lorsqu’il a été inondé par l’eau (fermé le lundi). Nous visitons ensuite la tombe du Mahdi de l’extérieur et, si le temps le permet, la maison des Musées du Khalifa (ouverte jusqu’à 13h30) à Omdurman. Déjeuner inclus dans un restaurant local (Al Housh). Ensuite, nous visitons le plus grand souk du Soudan. Le dîner n’est pas inclus (B.L.)

Hébergement
Khartoum - hôtel de votre choix
Jour 3: Khartoum - Les temples de Naga et Mussawarat - Meroe

Petit déjeuner à l’hôtel puis nous commençons le voyage vers le nord. Après environ 50 km, nous arrivons dans une zone désertique couverte de gros rochers de granit ronds; ce sont les dernières ramifications des formations rocheuses de la 6e cataracte. Nous quittons la route asphaltée et nous conduisons environ 30 km sur une piste désertique parmi de nombreux acacias épineux de chameau pour visiter les deux sites archéologiques. Le site de Naga est l’un des deux centres qui se sont développés durant la période méroïtique. A Naga, dans un environnement typiquement saharien avec des rochers et du sable, on trouve un temple dédié à Apedemak (1er siècle après JC): un magnifique bâtiment avec des décorations en bas-relief représentant le dieu à tête de lion, pharaon, nobles et plusieurs images rituelles . A quelques mètres se trouve une petite et étrange construction avec des arcs et des colonnes, appelée « kiosque », dans laquelle on peut remarquer les styles égyptien, romain et grec, tous en même temps. Pas loin nous atteignons un autre temple dédié à Amon avec de nombreuses statues de béliers et de belles portes ornées de bas-reliefs. Nous allons ensuite à Mussawarat, non loin de Naga. Ce règlement est situé dans une belle vallée couronnée de collines. Ici les ruines d’un très grand temple sont visibles; il a autrefois joué un rôle important exceptionnel. Sa principale caractéristique, la « Grande Enclosure » est faite par de nombreuses constructions et murs d’enceinte qui entourent un temple construit au 1er siècle après JC Le grand nombre d’éléphants représentés sur ces murs vous fait penser que cet animal avait un rôle important dans cette région. Au-delà du grand oued, il y a un autre temple – restauré par une mission archéologique allemande – dédié au dieu Apedemak. Pique-nique dans la région, puis nous revenons sur la route principale et conduisons au nord et tout d’un coup, nous pouvons jeter un coup d’œil à plus de 40 pyramides, situées au sommet d’une colline, certaines parfaitement conservées, qui appartiennent à la nécropole royale de Méroé. Arrivée au camp de Méroé avec une belle vue sur les pyramides. Hébergement dans des tentes confortables et entièrement meublées, dîner et nuit. (B.L.D.)

Hébergement
Camp de Meroe
Jour 4: Meroe - La nécropole et la ville royale de Meroe

Matinée dédiée à la visite des pyramides. La nécropole royale de Meroe est située à environ 3 km du Nil sur des collines couvertes de dunes de sable jaune. Plusieurs pyramides se détachent avec leurs formes pointues contre le ciel clair. Chacun a sa propre chapelle funéraire aux murs entièrement décorés de bas-reliefs qui montrent la vie du Roi et les offrandes aux dieux. Déjeuner au camp de Meroe. Dans l’après-midi, nous nous déplaçons le long du Nil pour visiter les ruines de la ville royale. Les fouilles confirment que la ville de Méroé couvrait une vaste zone et que la ville royale était située dans une position centrale, entourée de banlieues et d’un mur d’enceinte. La majeure partie de la zone où se trouve la ville, formée de nombreuses petites collines couvertes de fragments d’argile rouge, doit encore être fouillée par les archéologues. Dîner et nuit au camp de Meroe (B.L.D.)

Hébergement
Camp de Meroe
Jour 5 / Meroe – Desert du Bayuda - Nuri – El Kurru – Karima

Aujourd’hui nous traversons le Nil à Atbara et nous entrons dans le désert de Bayuda, la zone délimitée par la boucle formée par le Nil entre la 4ème et la 6ème cataracte et caractérisée par des montagnes de basalte noires, volcaniques et typiquement coniques. Ils alternent avec des étendues de galets et de grandes vallées traversées par des oueds secs, où l’on voit peu de végétation. Il est très probable qu’il rencontrera des groupes isolés de nomades Hassanya et Manasir, qui vivent dans des groupes familiers dans de petites huttes faites de branches entrelacées près des puits d’eau rares, avec leurs caravanes et leurs troupeaux de chameaux et de bétail. Nous atteignons finalement les pyramides de Nuri. Petite promenade parmi ces ruines antiques avant de traverser le Nil. Dans le village d’El Kurru se trouve l’une des nécropoles de l’ancienne capitale, Napata. Ici, nous pouvons visiter une tombe, qui est creusée dans la roche sous les pyramides – partiellement effondrée – et sont totalement décorées avec des images du pharaon, des dieux et des inscriptions hiéroglyphiques multicolores. Non loin d’ici, il y a un site intéressant de bois pétrifié, une forêt ancienne avec des centaines de troncs énormes. Nous allons alors réamorcer le village de Karima aux pieds du Jebel Barkal. Dîner et nuit dans la charmante maison de repos nubienne aux pieds du Jebel Barkal. (B.L.D.)

Hébergement
Karima Nubian Rest House
Jour 6 / Jebel Barkal – Desert Nubien – Old Dongola - Tombos

Repère dans le désert de Nubie, Jebel Barkal (« Jebel » signifie montagne en arabe) peut être vu à quelques dizaines de kilomètres tout en restant dans le désert ouvert. Au pied de cette magnifique et isolée montagne de grès rouge, considérée comme sacrée depuis les temps anciens, il y a un grand temple, dédié aux pharaons du Nouveau Règne et à leur patron, Amon. L’ancienne «Montagne Pure» d’Amon, l’Olympe des Nubiens, était le cœur religieux nubien depuis plus de 1000 ans. Outre les ruines du grand temple, il y a encore plusieurs béliers en granit sculptés qui étaient censés border une longue avenue qui a probablement conduit à la jetée sur le Nil. Dans le mur de la montagne, il y a une grande pièce décorée de bas-reliefs. Les sites archéologiques de Jebel Barkal sont sur la liste du patrimoine mondial. La nécropole royale de la ville antique de Napata, la capitale nubienne (de 800 à 400 avant notre ère) avant la période méroïtique, comptait un grand nombre de pyramides, situées à trois endroits différents: quelques centaines de mètres au nord de Jebel Barkal; une douzaine de kilomètres au sud de la montagne sacrée, à El Kurru; à Nuri, qui est situé sur l’autre rive du Nil. Nous atteindrons ensuite le site archéologique de Old Dongola. Ici, il y a le reste d’un temple chrétien copte avec des colonnes de marbre ainsi que plusieurs ruines suggestives d’églises situées sur les rives du Nil. Nous continuons notre voyage le long du Nil. Cette zone est la partie centrale de la région de Nubie. Ici, la population vit dans de petits villages parmi les dunes de sable jaunes et les palmiers, ils parlent une langue différente des Arabes et la religion islamique n’est pas aussi « stricte » que dans d’autres régions. Les femmes ne se couvrent pas le visage et parlent volontiers aux étrangers. Certaines maisons des villages nubiens sont peintes et décorées de motifs colorés et de fleurs. L’hospitalité enthousiaste abonde, les gens invitent souvent les étrangers à visiter leur maison et à partager un repas ou une tasse de thé épicé. Pique-nique dans la région. Tard dans l’après-midi, nous atteignons le campement prédéfini dans la région de Tombos.

 

Hébergement
Preset camp
Jour 7 / Tombos – Sebu – 3eme Cataracte - Kerma – Tombos

Après le petit déjeuner, nous atteignons la troisième cataracte qui était le troisième grand obstacle auquel les anciens Egyptiens devaient faire face lorsqu’ils essayaient de naviguer sur le Nil. Nous remontons la colline jusqu’à l’ancien fort ottoman où nous pouvons avoir de belles vues sur la cataracte. A Sebu, sur la rive du Nil, il est possible de visiter l’un des plus riches sites de gravure rupestre de tout le Soudan avec des centaines d’images de la préhistoire à l’époque égyptienne. Dans l’après-midi nous arrivons à Kerma où nous visitons le majestueux « Defuffa », le monument qui caractérise la civilisation Kerma. Très intéressant est le musée créé par la mission archéologique suisse après la récupération de sept statues des pharaons noirs en 2003. Nous atteignons ensuite les anciennes carrières de granit de Tombos où nous verrons une statue de Taharqa simplement laissée là dans le sable. Retournons au preset camp pour dîner et passer la nuit (B.L.D.)

Hébergement
Preset Camp
Jour 8 / Tombos – île de Sai - Temple de Soleb- Tombos

Après le petit déjeuner nous atteignons l’île de Sai en faisant une courte croisière sur le Nil pour voir les crocodile et pour atteindre les ruines d’un temple égyptien et une vieille forteresse ottomane sur l’île. Nous continuerons ensuite vers le sud jusqu’au petit village de Wawa. Ici nous prendrons un petit bateau à moteur pour atteindre le temple de Soleb, le plus beau temple égyptien au Soudan. Retour à Tombos. Dîner et nuit au campement prédéfini.

 

Hébergement
Preset Camp
Highlights
Jour 9 / Tombos – Wadi Halfa – Ashkait - Abu Simbel

Aujourd’hui, nous partons très tôt le matin et nous continuons jusqu’à la frontière avec l’Egypte. Après avoir passé la frontière soudanaise par un bus local et une fois que nous aurons franchi les formalités pour entrer en Egypte, nous rencontrerons notre personnel égyptien qui nous accompagnera pour le reste du voyage. Arrivée en fin d’après-midi à Abu Simbel. Arrivée à l’hôtel. Dîner non inclus et nuitée. Gardons à l’esprit que le passage de la frontière peut prendre de longues heures. (B.L.)

Hébergement
Maison Nubienne en Abu Simbel
Jour 10 / Abu Simbel – début de la croisière - Île Toshka - Forteresse Qasr Ibrahim - Amada

Dans la matinée, nous profitons d’une visite des célèbres temples taillés dans le roc d’Abu Simbel. (Au cas où il y aurait assez de temps, nous ferons la visite la veille.) Un site du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO, ces ruines spectaculaires ont été construites par Ramsès II, sans doute l’un des plus puissants pharaons du Nouvel Empire, qui comprend les 4 emblématiques. Après la visite, nous embarquons sur notre bateau privé pour commencer notre belle croisière sur le lac Nasser.Nous rejoignons l’île de Toshka à pied, profitant du paysage désertique.Le ciel ci-dessus résonne avec les sons de dizaines de faucons noirs Le bateau nous rattrapera de l’autre côté de l’île où nous pourrons nager dans le lac avant de nous diriger vers Qasr Ibrim (qasr = forteresse), le seul monument à être resté dans son emplacement d’origine lorsque le lac fut Nous avons le privilège de visiter ces ruines à pied, qui ne sont normalement pas accessibles au public.Pendant un mois par an, les archéologues viennent en mission dans cet endroit mystérieux.Nous allons déjeuner avec vue sur le reste de la vieille cathédrale. Nous continuons ensuite à traverser le lac en direction d’Amada où nous arriverons juste avant le coucher du soleil. Une promenade le soir vers un point d’observation nous permettra de contempler un coucher de soleil fantastique sur tout le lac, tout simplement incroyable. Nous terminons ensuite la journée près des magnifiques temples Amada, les plus anciens sites historiques des temples du lac. Dîner et première nuit sur le bateau. (B.L.D.)

Hébergement
Nuit sur le bateau
Jour 11 / Navigation sur le lac Nasser: temples d'Amada - Korosqo - Navigation des fjords nubiens - Dunes du Wadi El Arab et promenade du soir

Après un petit déjeuner léger, nous prenons une marche au lever du soleil vers le site du temple d’Amada. Datant de la XVIIème dynastie, ce sont les plus anciens monuments à avoir survécu à la création du lac. Relocalisé par une équipe d’ingénieurs français, le complexe comprend quelques-unes des inscriptions les mieux conservées de l’Egypte ancienne et nous visiterons ce matin les temples d’Amada et de Derr ainsi que la tombe de Pennout. De retour au bateau, nous poursuivons notre route vers les merveilleuses plages de sable d’El Marsan. Cet endroit est une excellente occasion de nager dans les eaux claires du Nil ou d’essayer de pêcher sur la rive. Après la pause, nous nous dirigeons vers les canyons spectaculaires de Korosqo, également appelés de « fjords nubiens », de l’autre côté du lac qui n’a que 2-3 km de large à cet endroit. Ce tronçon du lac offre un endroit idéal pour observer les oiseaux et autres animaux vivant sur les rives du lac Nasser, alors que nous nous dirigeons vers le nord et serpente à travers les confins étroits de la gorge. Après le déjeuner, nous continuons vers Wadi el Arab, où nous ferons une promenade dans le désert avant de prendre un verre et de dîner (B.L.D.)

Hébergement
Bateau
Jour 12 / Navigation sur le lac Nasser: promenade matinale - temple de Wadi Seboua - mur Madiq et gravures - Suqqar et promenade du soir

Après le petit déjeuner, nous commencerons la journée par une randonnée matinale à travers les grandes dunes de Wadi El Temsah (baie aux crocodiles). Un des endroits uniques sur le lac Nasser où les dunes plongent dans les eaux du lac. Le bateau viendra nous chercher plus tard où nous nous dirigerons vers le nord vers les temples de Wadi es Seboua, Dakka et Maharraqa. Sauvés des eaux montantes du lac Nasser, les temples sont situés le long des rives ouest du lac et comprennent l’étonnant temple de Ramsès II, situé à demi enfoui parmi les sables du désert et se rapprochant d’une spectaculaire avenue de sphinx qui a donné son nom à Ouadi es Seboua, vallée des lions. Re-embarquement du bateau, nous profitons du déjeuner avec des vues depuis le pont supérieur sur les temples. Ensuite, nous continuons à naviguer vers Madiq pour découvrir quelques gravures égyptiennes à proximité. Ce site non officiel est l’un de nos secrets les mieux gardés. Nous avons eu la confirmation d’un archéologue célèbre, que la date de ces gravures est définitivement tardive Predynastic (Nagada II, vers 3500 BCE à environ 3100 BCE) au Nouvel Empire. Les motifs sont purement égyptiens. La présence de l’emblème Horus (l’oiseau) en particulier marque une date très précoce, tout comme la cabine centrale basse sans voile. Après la visite, nous continuons notre itinéraire vers la baie de Soqqar (baie de sucre) pour la nuit. Dîner et nuit sur le bateau.

Hébergement
Bateau
Jour 13 / Abu Derua – Garf Hussein – Observation des oiseaux à Abu Stetta - archipel de Kalabshah et promenade du soir

Ce matin, nous commençons à naviguer de Soqqar à Abu Derua, un cône comme une colline au milieu du lac. Nous nous arrêtons pour le petit déjeuner et éventuellement une baignade matinale. Ensuite, nous naviguons vers Garf Hussein où nous pouvons voir le palais de vacances inachevé d’Anwar el Saddat. Malheureusement, il a été assassiné avant de vivre dans son palais sur les rives du lac Nasser. Le célèbre architecte égyptien Hassan Fathy a conçu et construit le magnifique palais, il présente de nombreuses caractéristiques nubiennes. Après Garf Hussein, nous traversons le détroit d’Abu Steit vers le nord pour observer les oiseaux. Ce soir, nous allons faire une promenade au coucher du soleil sur l’archipel de Kalabshah, en gardant un œil sur les crocodiles du Nil. Dîner et nuit sur le bateau.

Hébergement
Bateau
Jour 14 / Boussalem – Temple Kalabshah - Port du haut barrage d'Assouan (fin de la croisière) - Nuit à Assouan

Après le petit déjeuner, nous commençons notre dernière croisière vers Assouan. A Boussalem, on profite d’une dernière baignade dans le lac et d’une partie de pêche au rivage. Ensuite, nous nous dirigeons vers les temples de Kalabshah qui se trouvent juste à côté du haut barrage d’Assouan. Le temple Kalabsha, ancien Talmis, a été construit sur un ancien site du Nouvel Empire pendant la période romaine pour César Auguste. C’est peut-être le meilleur exemple d’un temple autonome en Nubie et est construit à partir de blocs de grès. Le complexe du temple Kalabsha est l’un des monuments les plus importants du lac Nasser. Il comprend le temple principal de Kalabsha, Beit el-Wali, le Garf Hussein et le kiosque de Qertassi. Déjeuner avec vue splendide sur les temples et le haut barrage. Après le déjeuner, nous profitons d’une dernière petite partie du bateau jusqu’à ce que nous arrivions au port commercial. Il est temps de dire au revoir à l’équipage et de débarquer. Transfert par la route à Isis Corniche Hôtel 4 ****. Dîner non inclus et nuitée.

Hébergement
Isis Corniche Hotel en Aswan
Joue 15 / Départ

Transfert à l’aéroport et embarquement sur votre vol international.

Date de départ
Statut
Langage
06/10/2018
english
confirmé
ouvert
fermé

NUBIA – A journey along the Nile

A unique itinerary that finally can be experienced thanks to the opening of the land border between Egypt and Sudan. A journey that makes you discover the history: from the first invasion of the Egyptian Pharaohs who subdued the Sudanese Nubia, to the area of ​​Jebel Barkal, the capital city of the Kingdom of the Black Pharaohs, when the Nubian Kings conquered the whole pharaonic Egypt. We will visit Meroe, where a great indigenous culture which rivalled even with the Romans developed and where there are dozens of pyramids laid down in the desert. We will then cross the border to reach Abu Simbel and board  on a small boat to discover Lake Nasser, visiting beautiful sites such as Wadi Es Sebua, Amada and Kasr Ibrim, with no tourists at all and far from any political tension in Egypt until the beautiful temple of Abu Simbel. In Sudan we travel by 4×4 vehicles along the Nile to admire and discover the beautiful archaeological sites of Soleb, Tombos, Kerma and also to see the colourful Nubian villages, the Nubian Desert and the Jebel Barkal with its polychrome tombs. We will also experience the Bayuda Desert with its volcanic cones and nomadic settlements up to the astonishing UNESCO site of the Royal Necropolis of Meroe. In Khartoum, we will visit the Archaeological Museum and the huge market in Omdurman.

15 days
Oct-Apr
all accommodated

The services include:

  • Meeting at airport and private transfer to hotel
  • 1 O/N at Isis Corniche Hotel Aswan 4**** in BB
  • 1 O/N at Nubian House in Abu Simbel in BB
  • Full board on the boat including water, coffee and tea
  • Individual lake permission for the protected areas and for visiting the fortress of Qasr Ibrim, normally not accessible for tourists
  • Fixer in Sudan for border crossing
  • 2 O/N at Acropole Hotel (3***) or similar in Khartoum in BB (possible upgrade at 4 or 5***** hotel in Khartoum upon request)
  • all the camping equipment for the overnights in camp (igloo tent, rubber foam mattress) and a cook in charge of the meals
  • 3 O/N in a special preset camp in Sudan in Tombos with shared facilities
  • 1 O/N in full board at the Nubian Rest House in Karima
  • 2 O/N at the Meroe Camp in FB
  • In Sudan transport with Toyota Land Cruisers (4 pax per car) or Toyota Hilux double cabin (3 pax per car guaranteed) including one extra day for our vehicles to to reach Wadi Halfa from Khartoum.
  • TL English speaking
  • Sudanese staff
  • mineral water outside Khartoum
  • meals as per itinerary
day 1 / Khartoum - arrival

Meet and greet at the airport and transfer to your hotel. Dinner NOT included and overnight stay.

Meal plan
  • NO meals included
Accommodation
Khartoum - hotel of your choice
Day 2 / Khartoum - town tour

Breakfast at the hotel and then we visit the Archaeological Museum that, besides many beautiful objects, contains two beautiful temples rescued by UNESCO and moved from the Lake Nasser area, when it was flooded by the water (closed on Mondays). We then visit the Mahdi’s tomb from the outside and, time permitting, the Khalifa’s house Museums (open until 13.30) in Omdurman. Lunch included in a local restaurant (Al Housh). Then we visit the largest souk in Sudan. Dinner NOT included and overnight. (B.L.)

Meal plan
  • Lunch included
  • Dinner NOT included
Accommodation
Khartoum - hotel of your choice
Day 3 / Khartoum - Naga and Mussawarat temples – Meroe

Breakfast at the hotel and then we begin the journey northward. After about 50 km, we get into a desert area covered with huge round granite boulders; these are the last offshoots of the rocky formations of the 6th Cataract. We leave the asphalt road and we drive for about 30 km on a desert track among many camel thorn acacia trees to visit the two archaeological sites.  The site of Naga it is one of the two centres that developed during the Meroitic period. In Naga, in a typical Saharan environment with rocks and sand, we find a temple dedicated to Apedemak (1st century A.D.): a wonderful building with bas-relief decorations depicting the god with a lion’s head, the Pharaoh, noblemen and several ritual images. A few metres away there is a small and odd construction with arches and columns, named “kiosk“, in which we can notice Egyptian, Roman and Greek styles, all at the same time. Not far away we reach another temple dedicated to Amon with many statues of rams and beautiful gates decorated with bas-reliefs. We then go to Mussawarat, not far away from Naga. This settlement is located in a beautiful valley crowned by hills.  Here the ruins of a very big temple are visible; it once played an exceptional important role.  Its main characteristic, the “Great Enclosure” is made by many constructions and boundary walls which surround a temple built in the 1st century A.D.  The large number of elephants represented on these walls makes you think that this animal used to have an important role in this area.  Beyond the big wadi there is another temple – restored by a German archaeological mission – dedicated to the god Apedemak. Picnic in the area and then we return on the main road and driving North and all of a sudden, we can glance at more than 40 pyramids, located on top of a hill, some of them perfectly preserved, which belong to the Royal Necropolis of Meroe. Arrival at the Meroe Camp with a beautiful view on the pyramids. Accommodation in comfortable and fully furnished tents, dinner and overnight stay. (B.L.D.)

Meal plan
  • All meals included
Accommodation
Meroe Camp
Day 4 / Meroe - the Necropolis and the Royal city of Meroe

Morning dedicated to the visit of the pyramids. The Royal Necropolis of Meroe is located at about 3 km from the Nile on some hills covered by yellow sand dunes.  Several pyramids stand out with their sharp shapes against the clear sky. Each one has its own funerary chapel with the walls fully decorated with bas-reliefs that show the King’s life and offers to the gods. Lunch at Meroe Camp. In the afternoon we move along the Nile to visit the ruins of the Royal city. The excavations confirm that the town of Meroe used to cover a large area and the Royal city was located in a central position, surrounded by suburbs and a boundary wall.  Most of the area where the city is located, formed by many small hills covered by red clay fragments, has still to be excavated by the archaeologists. Dinner and overnight stay at the permanent Meroe Camp. (B.L.D.)

Meal plan
  • All meals included
Accommodation
Meroe Camp
Day 5 / Meroe – Bayuda Desert - Nuri – El Kurru – Karima

Today we cross the Nile in Atbara and we enter the Bayuda Desert, the area bounded by the loop formed by the Nile between the 4th and the 6th Cataract and characterized by sharp black basalt mountains, most of them volcanic and typically cone-shaped. They alternate with level pebble stretches and large valleys crossed by dry wadis, where little vegetation can be seen. It is very likely to meet isolated groups of Hassanya e Manasir nomads, who live in familiar groups in small huts made of intertwined branches close to the rare water wells, with their caravans and herds of camels and cattle. We finally reach the pyramids of Nuri. Little walk among those ancient ruins before crossing the Nile. In the village of El Kurru there is one of the necropolises of the ancient capital, Napata.  Here we can visit one tomb, which is excavated in the rock under pyramids – partially collapsed – and are totally decorated with images of the Pharaoh, of the gods and multicolour hieroglyphic inscriptions. Not far from here there is an interesting site of petrified wood, an ancient forest with hundreds of huge trunks. We shall then reack the village of Karima at the feet of Jebel Barkal. Dinner and overnight in the charming Nubian Rest House at the feet of Jebel Barkal. (B.L.D.)

Meal plan
  • All meals included
Accommodation
Karima Nubian Rest House
Day 6 / Jebel Barkal – Nubian Desert – Old Dongola - Tombos

Landmark in the Nubian Desert, Jebel Barkal (“Jebel” means mountain in Arabic) can be seen from a few dozen kilometres whilst still in the open desert. At the foot of this wonderful and isolated red sandstone mountain, considered holy since the ancient times, there is a big temple, dedicated to the Pharaohs of the New Reign and to their patron, AmonAmon‘s ancient “Pure Mountain”, the Olympus of the Nubians, was the religious Nubian heart for more than 1000 years.  Besides the ruins of the big temple there are still several sculptured granite rams that were supposed to border a long avenue that probably led to the pier on the Nile.  In the mountain wall there is a big room decorated with bas-relief.  The Jebel Barkal archaeological sites are on the World Heritage list. The Royal necropolis of the ancient city of Napata, the Nubian capital (from 800 to 400 B.C.) before the Meroitic period, had a large number of pyramids, located in three different places: few hundred metres north of Jebel Barkal; a dozen kilometres southwards from the holy mountain, in El Kurru; in Nuri, which is located on the other bank of the Nile. We will then reach the archaeological site of Old Dongola. Here there are the rest of a Christian Coptic temple with marble columns as well as several suggestive ruins of churches situated on the banks of the Nile. We continue our journey along the Nile. This area is the central part of the Nubian region. Here the population lives in small villages amongst yellow sand dunes and palm trees they speak a different language from the Arabs and also the Islamic religion is not as “strict” as in other regions. The women don’t cover their faces and readily speak to foreigners. Some houses in the Nubian Villages are painted and decorated with colourful patterns and flowers. Enthusiastic hospitality abounds, people will often invite foreigners to visit their home and share a meal or a cup of spiced tea. Picnic in the area. Late in the afternoon we reach the preset camp in the area of Tombos.

 

Meal plan
  • Picnic lunch
  • Dinner at preset camp
Accommodation
Preset camp
Day 7 / Tombos – Sebu – 3rd Cataract - Kerma – Tombos

After breakfast we reach the Third Cataract which used to be the third huge obstacle that the ancients Egyptians had to face when trying to sail on the Nile River.  We walk up the hill to the ancient Ottoman Fort where we can have beautiful views of the cataract. In Sebu, right on the river bank of the Nile it is possible to visit one of the richest sites of rock engraving of all Sudan with hundreds of images from prehistoric to Egyptian times. In the afternoon we arrive in Kerma where we visit the majestic “Defuffa” the monument that characterizes Kerma civilization. Very interesting is the Museum created by the Swiss archaeological mission after the recovery of seven statues of the Black Pharaohs in 2003. We then reach the ancient granite quarries of Tombos where we will see a statue of Taharqa simply left there in the sand. Return tot he preset camp for dinner and overnight stay (B.L.D.)

Meal plan
  • All meals included
Accommodation
Preset Camp
Day 8 / Tombos – Island of Sai - Temple of Soleb - Tombos

After breakfast we reach the Island of Sai taking a short cruise on the Nile to see the Nile crocodiles and to reach the ruins of an Egyptian temple and an old Ottoman fortress on the island. We shall then continue southward until the small village of Wawa. Here we will take a small motor boat to reach the temple of Soleb, the most beautiful Egyptian Temple in Sudan. Return to Tombos. Dinner and overnight at the preset camp. (B.L.D.)

 

Meal plan
  • All meals included
Accommodation
Preset Camp
Highlights
Day 9 / Tombos – Wadi Halfa – Ashkait - Abu Simbel

Today we depart very early in the morning and we continue until the border with Egypt. After passing the Sudanese border by a local bus and once we have cleared the formalities to enter Egypt, we shall meet our Egyptian staff who will accompany us for the rest of the journey. Arrival in the late afternoon in Abu Simbel. Check in at the hotel. Dinner NOT included and overnight stay. Please bear in mind that crossing the border might takes long hours. (B.L.)

Meal plan
  • Dinner NOT included
Accommodation
Nubian House in Abu Simbel
Day 10 / Abu Simbel – beginning of the cruise - Toshka Island – Qasr Ibrahim Fortress - Amada

In the morning we enjoy a visit of the famous rock-cut temples of Abu Simbel. (In case there is enough time, we shall do the visit the day before. A UNESCO World heritage site, these spectacular ruins were constructed by Ramses II. Without doubt one of the most  powerful of the New Kingdom Pharaohs, which includes the 4 iconic 20 meter high statues of the great pharaoh himself. After the visit we board our private boat to start our beautiful cruise on Lake Nasser. We reach Toshka Island by foot, enjoying the desert scenery. The skies above echoes with the sounds of dozens black hawks. The boat will catch us on the other side of the island where we will enjoy the opportunity to swim in the lake. We then sail towards Qasr Ibrim (qasr = fortress) the only monument to have remained in its original location when the lake was flooded. We have the privilege of visiting these ruins by foot, which are normally not accessible to the public. For one month a year, archaeologists come on a mission to this mysterious place. We will take lunch with view on the remaining’s of the old Cathedral. We then continue cruising across the lake towards Amada where we will arrive just before sunset. A light evening walk to an observation point will allow us to watch a fantastic sunset over the entire lake, just amazing. We then finish the day close to the setting of the stunning Amada Temples, the oldest of the lake’s historic temple sites. Dinner and first night on the boat. (B.L.D.)

Meal plan
  • All meals included
Accommodation
Night on the boat
Day 11 / Navigation on lake Nasser: Amada temples – Korosqo – “Nubian fjords” sail – Wadi El Arab dunes and evening walk

After a light breakfast we take a sunrise walk up to the temple site of Amada. Dating back to the XVIIth dynasty, these are the oldest monuments to survive the creation of the lake. Relocated by a team of French engineers, the complex include some of the best- preserved inscriptions left in ancient Egypt and this morning we will pay a visit to the temples of Amada and Derr and the  tomb of Pennout. Returning to the boat we then cruise on, heading next towards the wonderful sandy beaches of El Marsan. This place is a great opportunity for swimming in stunning clear waters of the Nile or to try out some fishing from the shore. After the break we head to the dramatic canyons of Korosqo, also called de “Nubian fjords”, on the other side of the lake which is only 2-3 km wide at this place. This stretch of the lake provides an ideal spot to look out for birds and other animals living on the shores of Lake Nasser, as we turn north and meander through the narrow confines of the gorge. After lunch we then continue on to Wadi el Arab, where we will take an evening walk in the desert before enjoying drinks and dinner in the shadow of a vast, golden dune. (B.L.D.)

Meal plan
  • All meals included
Accommodation
Boat
Day 12 / Navigation on lake Nasser: morning walk – Wadi Seboua temples – Madiq wall and engravings – Suqqar and evening walk

After breakfast we will start the day with a light morning trek through the great dunes of Wadi El Temsah (crocodile bay). One of the unique places on lake Nasser where dunes plunge into the lake waters. The boat will pick us up later on where we will head north toward the temples of Wadi es Seboua, Dakka and Maharraqa. Saved from the rising flood waters of Lake Nasser, the temples sit along the western banks of the lake and include the stunning Temple of Ramses II, dramatically lying half- buried among the desert sands and approached along a spectacular avenue of sphinxes which gave the name to Wadi es Seboua, valley of the lions. Re-boarding the boat, we enjoy lunch with views from the upper deck on the temples. Then we continue cruising to Madiq to discover some nearby ancient Egyptian engravings. This unofficial site is one of our well kept secrets. We had confirmation form a famous archaeologist, that the date for these engravings are definitely late Predynastic (Nagada II, c. 3500 BCE to about 3100 BCE) to the New Kingdom. The motifs are purely ancient Egyptian. The presence of the Horus emblem (the bird) in particular marks a very early date, as does the low central cabin without a sail. After the visit we continue our itinerary towards Soqqar bay (sugar bay) for the night. Dinner and night on the boat.

Meal plan
  • All meals included
Accommodation
Boat
Day 13 / Abu Derua – Garf Hussein – Abu Stetta birdwatching – Kalabshah archipelago and evening walk

This early morning we start cruising from Soqqar to Abu Derua, a cone like hill in the middle of the lake. We stop for breakfast and eventually a morning swim. Then we sail toward Garf Hussein where we can spot the unfinished holiday palace of Anwar el Saddat. Unfortunately he was assassinated before ever living in his palace on the shores of Lake Nasser. The famous Egyptian architect Hassan Fathy designed and built the beautiful palace, it has many Nubian features. Following Garf Hussein we negotiate our way north through the strait of Abu Steit for bird watching. This evening we will take a sunset walk on the Kalabshah archipelago, keeping an eye out for basking Nile crocodiles. Dinner and night on the boat.

Meal plan
  • All meals included
Accommodation
Boat
Day 14 / Boussalem – Kalabshah temple – Aswan High Dam harbour (end of cruise) – Overnight in Aswan

After breakfast we start our final cruise towards Aswan. At Boussalem we enjoy a last swimming in the lake and some fishing from the shore. Then we head to the temples of Kalabshah which lay just besides de the Aswan high dam. Kalabsha Temple, ancient Talmis, was built over an earlier New Kingdom site during the Roman Period for Caesar Augustus. This is perhaps the finest example of a freestanding temple in Nubia and is constructed from sandstone blocks. Kalabsha Temple complex is among the most important of the salvaged monuments on Lake Nasser. It includes the main temple of Kalabsha, Beit el-Wali, Garf Hussein, and the Kiosk of Qertassi. Lunch with splendid view on the temples and the high dam. After lunch we enjoy a last little stretch on the boat until we reach the commercial harbour. It’s time to say goodbye to the crew and disembark. Transfer by road to Isis Corniche Hotel 4****. Dinner NOT included and overnight stay.

Meal plan
  • Dinner NOT included
Accommodation
Isis Corniche Hotel in Aswan
Day 15 / Departure

Transfer to the airport and boarding your international flight

Departure date
Status
Language
06/10/2018
english
confirmed
open
closed